Media Center quick update

I’ve just implemented the very first working version of the handlers i (together with notmart) chose to use for at least the media applets in the media containment. I like the effect and you can have a look at it as follows here. What you see is the leftmost part of the containment as you’ll get it on your screen. We chose to put the browser appearing from the left avoiding to clutter the desktop making it appearing only as user requests to show it by moving to the glowing side.

Enjoy 🙂

11 Responses to “Media Center quick update”


  1. 1 Andreas Marschke June 25, 2009 at 1:45 am

    Very nice I hope we can make things like this more as some people I talked to weren’t satisfied about the previous solution. Mostly because they were used to the way windows did it. I hope one day we can stop being compared with the proprietary enemy.

  2. 3 MirzaD June 25, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Can you please tell me what is the wallpaper/background you are useng on your video.

    Nice job.. 🙂

  3. 4 Alessandro Diaferia June 25, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    @MirzaD: it is “Altra Dot”, included as default for KDE 4.3 🙂

  4. 5 David@ Freedom Debt Relief June 25, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    That’s pretty cool, I liked the glassy effect.

  5. 6 Sam Vimes June 25, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Keep working at it, i will download it as soon as possible!

  6. 7 Vide June 25, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    I know I’m going to look like the bad guy here but… if this is a media center interface, why is it sooooo mouse centric??

    Wii like controllers are still a minority, every media center out there (based on window, linux, osx, whatever) have a more or less classic remote with buttons and arrows. No pointer. No mouse. So, what’s your plan about this issue?

  7. 8 Dion Moult June 26, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Looking good but what exactly is it?

  8. 9 roasting coffee beans July 10, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or
    vice-versa? My site goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  9. 10 Visitar Pagina July 26, 2013 at 1:52 am

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found
    that it’s truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels.

    I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!


  1. 1 Top Posts « WordPress.com Trackback on June 27, 2009 at 2:11 am

Leave a Reply

